I can see clearly now…

This morning as I opened my sleepy eyes to get ready for work, I looked out my bedroom window and saw nothing! Nothing but what was supposed to be the light of dawn, but only whiteness. Now, I have never seen that movie where there is fog and creepy things that come with the fog, but this mornings fog made me think about our relationship with God. It made me think about my Faith. Hebrews 11:1 says “Now Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” (KJV). How many times do we let the fog of the world cloud our vision when we are seeking the Lord? The fog this morning was so thick that I couldn’t see past the edge of my yard. It would have been easy to call in to work and tell them I couldn’t see past my yard so I’m staying home. I could have told them that it was to dangerous to drive because there was no visibility past my yard edge. Or I could have told them that I don’t know what’s out there in that fog and I am too scared to go through it. All of these excuses seem plausible but I didn’t use them. I got up, let my crazy puppies out and got ready for work. You know why? Because although I couldn’t see what was past my yard edge, I knew that in the past, when the fog came, that it was temporary. I knew that eventually the fog would go away. I knew that the things that were hidden in the fog were still familiar like the road I drive on, the stop signs, the houses I pass as I go to work. I had Faith in those things remaining the same because all the other times before, it never changed. My vision was not as good, I couldn’t see as far but I knew that the end result would be the same. So as I drove to town to pick up Ali for school this morning I thought of how our Faith is similar to this mornings fog. When I look out my bedroom window every morning I see Morgan mountain. This morning I couldn’t see the mountain because of the fog. Many times when you get up higher than the fog, you will see a mountaintop sticking up above it. The fog likes to settle in the valleys. Because warm air rises, the cooler air stays lower and this is what causes fog. Most times when we are in the valley, we can not see what is ahead. We tend to give up, we want to hide, we want to just exist. But as the sun comes up and sheds its warmth on the earth, the fog starts to dissipate. We start to see the mountain again and realize that we are climbing out of that valley. We can see further ahead of us. And as I got closer to town, I could see the sun starting to come through the fog and my vision starting getting clearer and clearer. Much like Faith, we have to be able to trust God although we can’t see what’s ahead. We have to know that although He hasn’t revealed all of His plan, that what He has planned is for our best interest and to glorify Him. This is a hard thing to do. We are humans and we don’t always understand the supernatural things that go on. That is why it is so hard to have Faith when we can’t see. But like my drive to work, I knew the outcome would be the same. I knew that although I couldn’t see very far ahead of me that the road was still there, there were no fog monsters and that pretty soon, the SUN would shine and that fog would disappear. The same thing happens when we trust God even though we don’t know what is ahead. Even though our vision is impaired and we can only see a little bit of His plan, we know from past times that HE is the constant in the situation. We know that HE will never leave us or forsake us. We know that HE will keep us safe from those fog monsters. And we know that when we see the SON shining, that the fog is fixing to be gone and we will get to see His plan to the end. We will get to see clearly again. We will get to be on the mountain top instead of the valley. So keep your eyes on the SON because He will help clear the fog…………………………..God Bless!!

One thought on “I can see clearly now…

Leave a comment