Right…….or almost right…….

Sorry, it has been a good minute since I made a post. Been really busy and well, just didn’t feel like God had laid anything specific on my heart. This morning, I was listening to the replay of the live at five morning prayer video that Amanda and Aaron Crabb have been doing this last week. Notice I say replay? Well that is because I didn’t crawl out of my warm, soft bed at 5 am so I caught the replay of the live video. There is so much content in this mornings video but the one thing that I honed in on was when she was talking about satan and how he makes things look almost right so that we are deceived. She made, what I thought, was a good point when she said that you do not need discernment for right or wrong, you need discernment for almost right or almost wrong.

I remember going through nursing school….many many years ago…..and when it came to test time, we had multiple choice questions. There was always an obviously wrong answer out of the 4 choices. Ok, that was easy, now I have to figure out between the other 3 answers, which one is the right answer. Out of those 3 answers, there were 2 that were almost right and 1 that was the right answer. If I did not study and know the facts, I could get tripped up on one of the almost right answers. If I picked one of those 2 answers, well, the answer is still wrong. Studying for nursing and knowing the difference in right and almost right is the difference between life and death. Just reading those answers and not really “knowing” the answer, I could just pick one out of those 3 left, because all three looked right. I have a 33% chance of getting the answer right at this point. But if I had studied just a little more, and I was sure of the answer then my odds go up to 100%.

Studying the word is a lot like this. Knowing the right and wrong and discerning almost right and almost wrong can be accomplished. But we have to be in the word….. a lot. We can’t just post the scripture memes on facebook or get our daily verse on our phone and call it good. We have to know!!!!! This is something that we have to be intentional about. We can’t just be flippant with the Word. I don’t always have time to read like I need to, but I always have time for other things I want to do. This is something that I have been working on lately. Discernment is very important for our spiritual lives. We have to be able to know the absolute truth in order to be able to discern. If we don’t know the absolute truth then we fall victim to satan’s lies and we end up like Eve did in the garden. I use the word victim lightly because, I don’t feel like we should be victimizing ourselves for something that we have complete control over…..i.e. studying the Word of God. But in this instance, I will use the word victim for lack of a better term.

In Genesis 2, God told Adam not to eat of the tree of Knowledge of good and evil. Genesis 2:15And the LORD God took the man, and put him into the garden of Eden to dress it and to keep it. 16And the LORD God commanded the man, saying, Of every tree of the garden thou mayest freely eat: 17But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die. That is pretty clear. If you eat it, you will die. No need for discernment here as God himself has spoken and made things very clear. But then if we skip ahead, we see where the serpent deceives Eve with his crafty way of twisting the word of God. Genesis 3:1Now the serpent was more subtle than any beast of the field which the LORD God had made. And he said unto the woman, Yea, hath God said, Ye shall not eat of every tree of the garden? 2And the woman said unto the serpent, We may eat of the fruit of the trees of the garden: 3But of the fruit of the tree which is in the midst of the garden, God hath said, Ye shall not eat of it, neither shall ye touch it, lest ye die. 4And the serpent said unto the woman, Ye shall not surely die: 5For God doth know that in the day ye eat thereof, then your eyes shall be opened, and ye shall be as gods, knowing good and evil. 6And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat.

If Eve had known God’s word as well as satan does, then she would have known that satan was twisting the Word and deceiving her. But because she did not know the word, she was deceived and therefore, changed the course of humanity. When we don’t know the word, we fall prey to satans lies. We are gullible to believe whatever sounds the best. We can’t be living Holy if we can’t take the time to read the bible and know the true right from wrong. Earlier I mentioned the chances of getting my answer right on one of my tests. If I looked at all 4 answers, I had a 25% chance of getting the answer right on every question. Those are not good odds. But through studying, I can increase that chance to 100%. Now when it comes to Heaven or Hell, do you want a 25% chance of making it to Heaven or a 100% chance? I know what I would pick…………………..

God Bless……………Chandelly

Leave a comment